PIXE - Particle Induced X-Ray Emission

PIXE is a nuclear analytical technique, ideal for trace element detection and quantification. It is the most commonly used method for the bulk analysis of geological, biological, environmental and cultural heritage samples.

The interaction of an ion beam with a material can result in the ionization of the atoms of the material. PIXE is based on the detection of the X rays following the ionization of the atoms of the sample. These X rays are a unique characteristic of the interacting elements and their detection enables the identification of the target elements.

PIXE is a non-destructive technique and one of the few that provides multi-elemental quantitative analysis, since the determination of the concentrations of any element from sodium to uranium is achieved through a single measurement.  In addition, PIXE is ideal for trace element analysis as it is characterized of high sensitivity, which in certain cases can reach levels of the order of a few parts per million (ppm).

In RUBION microanalysis and elemental mapping in the scale of a few μm are also possible. The accuracy and the sensitivity of the measurements are enhanced by using a high-performance Silicon Drift Detector (SDD) that combines high energy resolution (129 eV at 5.9 keV) and large detection area (70 mm²).

Related instrument

PIXE - Particle Induced X-Ray Emission

PIXE ist eine nuklearanalytische Technik, ideal für die Detektion und Quantifizierung von Spurenelementen. Es ist die am häufigsten verwendete Methode für die Massenanalyse von geologischen, biologischen, Umwelt- und Kulturerbeproben.

Die Wechselwirkung eines Ionenstrahls mit einem Material kann zu einer Ionisierung der Atome des Materials führen. PIXE basiert auf der Detektion der Röntgenstrahlen, die nach der Ionisierung der Atome der Probe emittiert werden. Diese Röntgenstrahlen sind ein einzigartiges Merkmal der interagierenden Elemente und ihre Detektion ermöglicht die Identifizierung der Zielelemente.

PIXE ist eine zerstörungsfreie Technik und eine der wenigen, die eine quantitative Multi-Element-Analyse bietet, da die Bestimmung der Konzentrationen eines beliebigen Elements von Natrium bis Uran durch eine einzige Messung erreicht wird. Darüber hinaus ist PIXE ideal für die Analyse von Spurenelementen, da es sich durch eine hohe Empfindlichkeit auszeichnet, die in bestimmten Fällen Konzentrationen in der Größenordnung von wenigen ppm erreichen kann.

In RUBION sind auch Mikroanalyse und Elementkartierung im Maßstab von einigen μm möglich. Die Genauigkeit und die Empfindlichkeit der Messungen werden durch die Verwendung eines Hochleistungs-Siliziumdriftdetektors (SDD) verbessert, der eine hohe Auflösung (129 eV bei 5,9 keV) und einen großen Erfassungsbereich (70 mm²) kombiniert.

Verwandtes Gerät